Salman Butt, Mohammad Amir and Mohammad Asif were banned for Spot Fixing by ICC on this day

Pakistani cricketers salman butt mohammad amir mohammad asif
Pakistani-cricketers-salman butt-mohammad-amir-mohammad-asif

The ICC had banned three Pakistan players – Salman Butt, Mohammad Amir and Mohammad Asif – in 2011 for spot-fixing. The Taunts players were found guilty of spot-fixing during the Lord’s Test of 2010.

February 5 means today is considered to be the darkest day in Pakistan’s cricket history. On this day, in 2011, three Pakistan players – Salman Butt, Mohammad Amir and Mohammad Asif – were banned by the ICC for spot-fixing. These taunts players had pleaded guilty to spot-fixing (Spot Fixing) during the Lords (Lords) Test of 2010.

Also read: James Anderson, and Ben Stokes Can Be Deadly

The three players were put on a long ban

All these players found guilty of spot fixing in the Lords Test were banned by the ICC. Icc (ICC) had imposed 10 over Salman Butt, 7 over Mohammad Asif and 5 years left over Mohammad Amir ( Mohammad Amir). However, Asif’s ban was later reduced to 5 years.

All three had to be imprisoned

These players, who were found guilty in spot fixing, were not only punished for being banned, but all of them had to be jailed for some time. In November 2011, a London court sentenced the trio to prison.

Butt was sentenced to two years and six months, Asif one year and Amir six months. Majhar Majid, the agent who discussed the no ball tape in the test, was sentenced to two years and eight months.

Amir had made a comeback to international cricket

In early 2012, Amir was released after spending three months at the Portland Young Offenders Institution. In January 2015, he signed to play grade two cricket for the Karachi-based team, as the ICC (ICC) allowed him to play domestic cricket under the aegis of the PCB eight months before the scheduled end of the ban. Just a year later, he once again started playing for Pakistan. However, Butt and Asif were able to make a comeback in domestic cricket.